I don’t see why folks say she sold out. I see the empowerment in this

Quest for the Perfect Curl

yoga

When I watched Janelle Monáe’s new video for “Yoga,” featuring Jidenna, it absolutely brightened my day. I thought that Janelle did a great job embracing her own sexual being AND maintaining ownership of it, something that I think can get very blurry in the music industry. While I love artists like Rihanna and Nicki Minaj, I sometimes wonder if they cross the line from women’s empowerment over to existing for male consumption. After all, we can only twerk so much for fun until men think that we are only doing it for them and it’s a very fine line. But then again, whatever a woman chooses to do with her body is none of my/our business.

That’s why I was so surprised to see some people commenting on “Yoga” and declaring that Janelle has “sold out” to the oversexualization of women that is often criticized in the music industry. On…

View original post 360 more words

