What Your Doctor Doesn't Know About Fibromyalgia

I was still suffering and without hope when I decided to write this book, the day I brought home some dog-eared, yellow-highlighted books from the house of a deceased woman I had never met. I had stopped at an estate sale only to find that the woman who had lived there was a 56-year-old woman with fibromyalgia. The neighbors who were there weren’t sure how she died; perhaps an overdose, they suggested. Maybe a heart attack. I bought most of her books even though I already owned many of them. I wanted to feel close to her. I could sense her desperation as I turned the pages, as she highlighted various remedies, every one a highly popularized course of action for reversing the disease. I decided then that I wanted to tell the truth about the hopelessness that FMS patients feel when their doctor’s explanations and lectures fail and about…

View original post 374 more words

